Hopman Cup

Hopman Cup logo

The Hopman Cup - an official team competition of the ITF since 1997 - is an international mixed event that was first contested in 1989.

It is staged at the start of each year in Perth, Australia. In 2013, the Hopman Cup celebrated its 25th year by moving to the state-of-the-art Perth Arena.

The event was born out of admiration for Harry Hopman, the great Australian, with former players Paul McNamee and Charlie Fancutt responsible for conceiving the idea.

The Hopman Cup has consistently attracted the game’s best players. More than 20 former world No. 1's have represented their nation over the years.

Some of the all-time greats to play at the Hopman Cup include John McEnroe, Ivan Lendl, Yannick Noah, Mats Wilander, Pat Cash, Boris Becker, Marat Safin, Lleyton Hewitt, Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic, Steffi Graf, Arantxa Sanchez Vicario, Monica Seles, Martina Hingis, Lindsay Davenport, Justine Henin, Kim Clijsters and Serena Williams.

For the players, it is an entertaining and relaxing way of starting the season before contesting the first Grand Slam of the year, the Australian Open. It was clearly good preparation for Djokovic in 2011, as the Serb won his three Hopman Cup singles matches and then went on to lift the trophy at Melbourne Park.

Australia won the title in 2016, with Daria Gavrilova and Nick Kyrgios combining to beat Ukraine's Elina Svitolina and Alexandr Dolgopolov in the final.

For more information about the Hopman Cup, including players, nations, news and photos, visit the competition's official website.


Hopman Cup XXIX

The 29th edition of the Hopman Cup will take place on 1-7 January 2016.

Click here to view the Schedule and Results.

The teams confirmed for the next edition of the Hopman Cup are as follows:

Australia Daria Gavrilova and Nick Kyrgios
Czech Republic Lucie Hradecka and Adam Pavlasek
France Kristina Mladenovic and Richard Gasquet
Germany Andrea Petkovic and Alexander Zverev
Great Britain Heather Watson and Daniel Evans
Spain Lara Arruabarrena and Feliciano Lopez
Switzerland Belinda Bencic and Roger Federer
USA CoCo Vandeweghe and Jack Sock


Honour roll

1989 Czechoslovakia Helena Sukova/Miloslav Mecir
1990 Spain Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario/Emilio Sanchez
1991 Yugoslavia Monica Seles/Goran Prpic
1992 Switzerland Manuela Maleeva-Fragniere/Jakob Hlasek
1993 Germany Steffi Graf/Michael Stich
1994 Czech Republic Jana Novotna/Petr Korda
1995 Germany Anke Huber/Boris Becker
1996 Croatia Iva Majoli/Goran Ivanisevic
1997 USA Chanda Rubin/Justin Gimelstob
1998 Slovakia Karina Hadsudova/Karol Kucera
1999 Australia Jelena Dokic/Mark Philippoussis
2000 South Africa Amanda Coetzer/Wayne Ferreira
2001 Switzerland Martina Hingis/Roger Federer
2002 Spain Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario/Tommy Robredo
2003 USA Serena Williams/James Blake
2004 USA Lindsay Davenport/James Blake
2005 Slovakia Daniela Hantuchova/Dominik Hrbaty
2006 USA Lisa Raymond/Taylor Dent
2007 Russia Nadia Petrova/Dmitry Tursunov
2008 USA Serena Williams/Mardy Fish
2009 Slovakia Dominika Cibulkova/Dominik Hrbaty
2010 Spain Maria Jose Martinez Sanchez/Tommy Robredo
2011 USA Bethanie Mattek-Sands/John Isner
2012 Czech Republic Petra Kvitova/Tomas Berdych
2013 Spain Anabel Medina Garrigues/Fernando Verdasco
2014 France Alize Cornet/Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
2015 Poland Agnieszka Radwanska/Jerzy Janowicz
2016 Australia Green Daria Gavrilova/Nick Kyrgios