Fed Cup by BNP Paribas

Fed Cup by BNP Paribas is the world's largest annual international team competition in women's sport with 99 nations entered in 2015.

The prestigious ITF event, which sits alongside Davis Cup by BNP Paribas in the men's game, gives players the chance to represent their country in an otherwise individual sport.

The competition was launched as the Federation Cup in 1963 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the ITF. An American team led by Billie Jean King won the inaugural title at The Queen's Club in London, and the event has continued to attract the best players in the women's game.

Among the all-time greats to represent their nation are Margaret Court, Virginia Wade, Evonne Goolagong, Martina Navratilova, Chris Evert, Hana Mandlikova, Steffi Graf, Arantxa Sanchez Vicario, Lindsay Davenport, Monica Seles, Martina Hingis, Kim Clijsters, Justine Henin, Maria Sharapova, and Venus and Serena Williams.

The event title was shortened to Fed Cup in 1994 and the following year the format of the competition changed. The week-long finals were terminated in favour of a World Group and World Group II, and ties started being played on a home-and-away basis.

This system is still used today with eight nations contesting a World Group knock-out draw over three weekends during the year to decide who is crowned champion. The next eight nations compete in World Group II and the remaining nations are split into three regional Zones, with promotion and relegation up for grabs on an annual basis between all Groups.

BNP Paribas became Fed Cup's first Title Sponsor in 2005, mirroring the company's support of Davis Cup. The partnership started with a bang when France and Russia contested a classic Final in front of a packed Philippe Chatrier Court at Roland Garros. The other current partner is Adecco.

Czech Republic won its third title in four years when it defeated Germany 3-1 at the O2 Arena in Prague in 2015 thanks to singles victories for both Petra Kvitova and Lucie Safarova.

With 17 Fed Cup titles to their name, USA are the most successful nation in the competition. Australia are second with seven wins, then Czech Republic third with six and Spain fourth with five.

For more information about Fed Cup by BNP Paribas, including drawsheets, results, news and photos, visit the competition's official website.

- FedCup.com

2015 Dates

World Group first round 7-8 February

- Canada v Czech Republic, Quebec City
- Italy v France, Genoa
- Poland v Russia, Krakow
- Germany v Australia, Stuttgart

World Group II first round 7-8 February

- Netherlands v Slovakia, Apeldoorn
- Romania v Spain, Galati
- Sweden v Switzerland, Helsingborg
- Argentina v USA, Buenos Aires

World Group semifinals 18-19 April

World Group play-offs 18-19 April

World Group II play-offs 18-19 April

World Group Final 14-15 November

2014 Dates

World Group first round
8-9 February

- USA 1-3 Italy, Cleveland
- Spain 2-3 Czech Republic, Seville
- Slovak Republic 1-3 Germany, Bratislava 
- Australia 4-0 Russia, Hobart

World Group II first round 8-9 February

- Canada 3-1 Serbia, Montreal
- Sweden 2-3 Poland, Boras
- France 3-2 Switzerland, Paris
- Argentina 3-1 Japan, Buenos Aires

World Group semifinals 19-20 April

- Czech Republic 4-0 Italy, Ostrava
Australia 1-3 Germany, Brisbane

World Group play-offs 19-20 April

- Russia 4-0 Argentina, Sochi
Canada 3-1 Slovak Republic, Quebec City
- USA 2-3 France, St. Louis
Spain 2-3 Poland, Barcelona

World Group II play-offs 19-20 April

Romania 4-1 Serbia, Bucharest
Netherlands 3-2 Japan, 's-Hertogenbosch
- Sweden 4-0 Thailand, Lidkoping
- Brazil 1-4 Switzerland, Catanduva

World Group Final 8-9 November

Czech Republic v Germany, Prague


  • Czech team celebrate Angelique Kerber (GER)
  • Angelique Kerber (GER) Petra Kvitova (CZE)
  • Angelique Kerber (GER) Angelique Kerber (GER)
  • Petra Kvitova (CZE) Angelique Kerber (GER)
  • Angelique Kerber (GER) Petra Kvitova (CZE)
  • Petra Kvitova (CZE) and captain Petr Pala Petra Kvitova (CZE)