Davis Cup by BNP Paribas

Davis Cup by BNP Paribas is the world's largest annual international team competition in sport with 132 nations entering in 2018.

The prestigious ITF event, which is one of the cornerstones of the tennis calendar, gives players the chance to represent their country in an otherwise individual sport.

Founded by Dwight Davis in 1900, the Davis Cup began as a challenge match between USA and British Isles, which was held at the Longwood Cricket Club in Boston. Davis himself played in the inaugural tie, steering his country to the first of many titles.

From its inception, Davis Cup has attracted the top players of each generation, from former legends such as Fred Perry, Bill Tilden, Rene Lacoste, Rod Laver, Jimmy Connors, Bjorn Borg and John McEnroe, to latter day stars such as Boris Becker, Stefan Edberg, Pete Sampras, Andre Agassi, Lleyton Hewitt, Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal.

The current World Group format was adopted in 1981, whereby 16 nations contest a knock-out draw over four weekends during the year to decide who is crowned champion. The remaining nations are split into three regional Zones, with promotion and relegation up for grabs on an annual basis between all Groups.

The start of the World Group also coincided with NEC becoming the competition's Title Sponsor, a partnership that lasted 20 years. BNP Paribas took over the role in 2002 and remain Davis Cup's Title Sponsor to this day. The other current partners are Adecco, NH Hotels and Rolex.

In 2017, the 105th edition of the competition, France defeated Belgium 3-2 in the final in Lille. It was France's 10th Davis Cup title, but first since 2001.

USA are the most successful Davis Cup nation, having lifted the trophy 32 times. The Americans are closely followed by Australia on 28, while Great Britain and France are in third place with 10 wins.

For more information about Davis Cup by BNP Paribas, including drawsheets, results, news and photos, visit the competition's official website.

- DavisCup.com

2018 Dates

World Group first round 3-5 February

- France 3-1 Netherlands, Albertville
Japan 1-3 Italy, Morioka
Spain 3-1 Great Britain, Marbella
Australia 1-3 Germany, Brisbane
Kazakhstan 4-1 Switzerland, Astana
Croatia 3-1 Canada, Osijek
Serbia 1-3 USA, Nis
Hungary 2-3 Belgium, Liege

World Group quarterfinals 6-8 April

Italy v France, Genoa
Spain v Germany, Valencia
Croatia v Kazakhstan, Varazdin
USA v Belgium, Nasheville

World Group semifinals 14-16 September

World Group play-offs 14-16 September

World Group Final 23-25 November

2017 Results

World Group first round 3-5 February

- Argentina 2-3 Italy, Buenos Aires
- Germany 1-4 Belgium, Frankfurt
- Australia 4-1 Czech Republic, Melbourne
- USA 5-0 Switzerland, Birmingham, AL
- Japan 1-4 France, Tokyo
- Canada 2-3 Great Britain, Ottawa
- Serbia 4-1 Russia, Nis
- Croatia 2-3 Spain, Osijek

World Group quarterfinals 7-9 April

Belgium 3-2 Italy, Charleroi
Australia 3-2 USA, Brisbane
 France 4-1 Great Britain, Rouen
Serbia 4-1 Spain, Belgrade

World Group semifinals 15-17 September

Belgium 3-2 Australia, Brussels
France 3-1 Serbia, Lille

World Group play-offs 15-17 September

Kazakhstan 3-2 Argentina, Astana
- Colombia 1-4 Croatia, Bogota
Switzerland 3-2 Belarus, Biel
Netherlands 3-2 Czech Republic, The Hague
Portugal 2-3 Germany, Lisbon
Japan 3-1 Brazil, Osaka
Hungary 3-1 Russia, Budapest
- Canada 3-2 India, Edmonton

World Group Final 24-26 November

France 3-2 Belgium, Lille