3-16 July 2017

The All England Lawn Tennis & Croquet Club
Wimbledon, London, England

Outdoor grass

Main stadiums
Centre Court - 15,000 capacity
No. 1 Court - 11,429 capacity

Official website


Title holders

Men's singles
Andy Murray (GBR)

Men's doubles
Pierre-Hugues Herbert (FRA) / Nicolas Mahut (FRA)

Women's singles
Serena Williams (USA)

Women's doubles
Serena Williams (USA) / Venus Williams (USA)

Mixed doubles
Heather Watson (GBR) / Henri Kontinen (FIN)

Boys' singles
Denis Shapovalov (CAN)

Boys' doubles
Kenneth Raisma (EST) / Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE)

Girls' singles
Anastasia Potapova (RUS)

Girls' doubles
Usue Maitane Arconada (USA) / Claire Liu (USA)



Early days
Wimbledon - or The Championships - is the world's oldest tennis tournament, having first been played in 1877, and is considered the most prestigious by many people. The only event originally contested was men's singles, which Spencer Gore won when he came through a field of 22 players.

The tournament has always been played in Wimbledon, a south-west suburb of London, but the actual venue has changed. It was held at the old Worple Road site until 1922, when the current Church Road site was first used.

Centre Court
Wimbledon's main arena, named because of its central location within the club's grounds, was first used in 1922. It has undergone numerous upgrades over the years, none more so than in 2009 when a new retractable roof was officially opened. Centre Court now has a capacity of 15,000.

Wimbledon is the only Grand Slam still played on the game's original surface of grass. Since 2000, the grass has been 100 per cent rye, a change from the rye and red fescue composition that was used prior. It is cut to a height of 8mm.

All-time greats - men
William Renshaw set the record for winning the most number of men's singles titles in the 1800s, with seven victories. Since the start of the Open era in 1968, Pete Sampras and Roger Federer have both equalled this record, with Bjorn Borg not far behind on five wins.

All-time greats - women
Martina Navratilova has been the most successful women's singles player, lifting the trophy nine times between 1978 and 1990. In recent years, Steffi Graf (seven) Serena Williams (six) and Venus Williams (five) have all enjoyed multiple triumphs. Navratilova and Billie Jean King are the tournament's most prolific champions across all events, with a combined 20 titles each between singles, doubles and mixed doubles.

Brits at Wimbledon
In 2013, Andy Murray ended a 77-year wait for a British champion in the men's singles. The Brits have enjoyed more success on the women's side with three post-war winners: Angela Mortimer in 1961, Ann Jones in 1969 and most recently Virginia Wade in 1977.