12 Nov 2012

American duo triumph in Phoenix

News Article

Photo: Pete Ziebron Images$75,000 Phoenix 2012 doubles champions

PHOENIX, AZ, USA: University of Tennessee graduate and All-American Natalie Pluskota and Arizona State University All-American senior Jacqueline Cako teamed to win the Goldwater Women's Tennis Classic doubles final today over 2012 Wimbledon Junior Singles and Doubles Champion Genie Bouchard and Ulrikke Eikeri 63 26 [10-4] at the Phoenix Country Club.

The unseeded victors dropped only two sets throughout the tournament and ironically played a lengthy 183 minute first round qualifying match against each other last Sunday, won by Cako.

Pluskota and Cako jumped to an early 4-0 lead in the first set, as Pluskota enthusiastically encouraged herself and her teammate throughout the majority of the match but especially so in the early stages of the opening set. Despite the fact that Cako's serve was broken attemptng to stretch the lead to 5-0, Pluskota would hold her serve at 4-2 and later, Cako would serve out the opening set at 5-3.

Bouchard served to open the second set and held at love and Bouchard and Eikeri would then break Cako's service game on the deciding point to take a 2-0 lead. Eikeri and Plustoka would each be broken in their service games, marking three consecutive breaks of serve, until Bouchard would once again hold to get her team a 4-1 advantage.

Neither server could manage to hold serve in the next three games and Bouchard and Eikeri would win the set 62 on their 4th set point in the second set. Of the eight service games in the set, each player served twice and only Genie Bouchard managed to hold serve throughout.

The Doubles Championship would now be decided by a match tiebreak and in a very similar fashion as the opening set, Pluskota and Cako jumped out to a commanding 4-1 lead. Each team would split the next six points, Bouchard and Eikeri could only get within three points and Pluskota and Cako enjoyed a 7-4 advantage. They would go on to win the next three points of the tiebreaker and win the title.

Following the match, all players thanked the sponsors, especially Bill Luke Auto Group, as well as Tournament Directors Sara and Dan Stablein, USTA officials Missy Malool and Bunny Williams and all of the ball boys and girls.